Jigsaw

//Jigsaw//
 
Writing is a complex puzzle where
You cut each piece as you go: watch
An image of beauty slowly forming,
Crafted from dozens of unique words,
sentences, and images—like a jigsaw.
 
Punctuation marks the cut,
Words the brush stroke, and
Art takes wing on the mind of imagination:
Life screaming through its cracks.
 
Next time you read, feel
The cuts, wonder at its joints,
Step back and breathe beauty’s image
hand–crafted before you, personally.
 
I fear few feel its cuts, and fail to see an image
Longing to dance with them, before them.
This jigsaw is alive, always changing with life
imparted by its author, throbbing and quivering
with expectation as you turn the page. Words!
“Is there anything so real as words?”
 
— Iain Sutherland
   (The Ink Jester)
 
 

“Words! Mere words! How terrible they were! How clear, and vivid, and cruel! One could not escape from them. And yet what a subtle magic there was in them! They seemed to be able to give a plastic form to formless things, and to have a music of their own as sweet as that of viol or of lute. Mere words! Was there anything so real as words?”  —  Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray.

5 thoughts on “Jigsaw

  1. Highly inspiring! Makes me want to immediately go paint a word picture. I loved how you expressed the artistic desire to create and interpret beauty. You’ve captured the artistic heart in this piece. I might copy it out and add it to my motivational and inspirational material list.

    Oh andIi totally agree on the jigsaw puzzle interpretation especially the punctuation part because I find it highly annoying when someone writes an endless stream of sentences and it loses all its beauty the beauty of the words the beauty of the flow of the words to a complete and utter lack of punctuation if they don’t use commas I manage alright but when they don’t use periods or other forms of final punctuation it becomes very frustrating and most of the time I simply will not read such poorly constructed materials because it requires too much time to figure out what they are trying to say.

    Yet, I wonder of what other arts might have punctuation. Music definitely has punctuation, but I’m not having as much luck relating punctuation to painting and visual arts.

    • I’m glad you were inspired James. It was Wilde that did it for me, so I was passing on the creative inspiration. I love your middle paragraph of punctuation, I was laughing so much. Too true though, eh? As I study English and talk to current English teachers they say the job has almost come down to repair work. Students sentence structure, grammar, and punctuation are atrocious, and after the repair work has begun there’s almost no room left for inspiration.

      • What happens when you get a whole bunch of writers, serious writers together? One of my favorite things in the world has been to work with highly-ambitious and talented people. They are SO much different than the people who have an “I don’t care” attitude about skills, talents, among other things. It’s one of those things you just always enjoy.

Leave a Reply

