Dichotomy and Dignity

Human Trafficking

DICHOTOMY AND DIGNITY

dignity is below 
me
and
freedom is above me

I shall not isolate
my
self
amidst the undergrowth

I have wept, bent crooked,
on 
cracks,
and filthy broken streets

I have fetishised death
and
life,
growing sick with them both

I have prostituted
my 
self
for pleasure and comfort

I became that which I
did
not
desire: an object

In the mirror, I made
a
slave
of my identity

Split me open like
a
book
with old antique pages

The furnace of my soul
has
burnt
dark cinders in my heart

Dignity is beyond me
and
Free-
dom irreality

I find ‘captivating’
a
[sic]
word dichotomy

 


© Iain Sutherland, 2014.
Header/featured: (Click here)

Disclaimer: Any advertisements displayed on this page are done so without my endorsement and approval.

4 thoughts on “Dichotomy and Dignity

  1. Wow, this is powerful, Iain. I’ve been trying to come up with a poem which addresses my own pressure to “be beautiful” (when I was younger)–the expected results contrary to the actual ones. Guess it just needs more time to “knit”.

    • Thank you Pen 🙂 I’m so glad you connects with it…it just sort of fell onto the page before I could figure out how of why. Society can be so hypocritical at times. In one breath offering us pleasure, and in the other cursing us

Leave a Reply

