Tiff and Jon

 

Tiff and Jon 2

-=TIFF AND JON=-
by Jon A. Wicherson

.

.

.

.

“I’m not bad” gasped Tiff.
“Not good either,” whispered Jon.
“Aye, what was that, mate?”
“Na, yea, um…good job then Tiff
—I mean it did take…”
“Jon, wipe that smirk off your face…”
She, wrung her hands,
and clicked her spine into place.

.

.

.
“That took you an hour,
It doesn’t count, I keep it”
“Na, na, na, na, na,
I finish it, I keep it:
a deal’s a deal, Jon.”
He, wrung his hands,
and clicked his spine into place.

.

.

.

.
“Well…Tiff…it’s just…I”
“NO EXCUSES JON, GIVE IT!”
“Tiff, I…Well…No, no.”
“JON!” Tiff launched herself
at her friend’s jugular, “GIVE!”
“Tiff, Tiff, calm down…okay.”
He took one deep breath, and coughed
“I don’t have it, Tiff,”
Jon backed up, shielding his face.

.

.

.
“You don’t have it. You…”
“Look, Tiff, I’m sorry! I never…
“You never thought! You…”
“OKAY I NEVER HAD IT!”
Jon struggled for words,
“I never had it because…”
“Because you’re bloody
thick! You’re a bloody bastard!”
She screamed at him.

.

.

.

.
“I never had it because,
Tiff, you’ve had it all along!”
He wrung her hands,
and clicked her spine into place.
He opened her chest,
and ate out her gooey innards.

.

.

.
“For goodness sake Jon!
Stop playing with your food! Eat!”
spat his embarrassed mother.
The table silent,
Eyes passing between Jon, and
His lobster, to Jon,
Then back to his lobster: Tiff.

 

About: Jon A. Wicherson

Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Jon A. Wicherson, would later quote this humorous anecdote at his acceptance speech in 1999. Today, critics cite the story of “Tiff and Jon” as an early example of Witcherson’s unique free-and-indirect style of dialogue.

“Tiff and Jon” combines a stream-of-consciousness style, with a clear 5-7 syllabic structure, developed to maturity in Wicherson’s later plays: The Wind Farce in a Cast,” “Shelby and the Turtle,” and the Pulitzer Prize-winning “Daisy Chains for Daisy.”

Also, like Tiff,

Jon A. Wicherson doesn’t exist-

–I am his author,

he resides in my imagination cortex.

He says, “Hi.”

.

.

.

============
© Iain Sutherland, All rights reserved, 2014.
Image from: http://www.michellesstylefile.com/
Click here to see the image
===

Disclaimer: Any advertisements displayed on this page are done so without my endorsement and approval.

 

3 thoughts on “Tiff and Jon

Leave a Reply

