Two Years of Silence

Dear WordPress friends,

I have just finished collating all my posts into one giant WordDoc. Between 2012 – 2014, I wrote over 90+ poems and short stories, adding to a total of 20,387 words. That said, I’m not sure I’ll ever post here again.

It has been two years since my last post, and in that time I have changed significantly – both as a writer and as a person. This whole site feels like a time capsule, I just can’t see myself continuing on as if nothing happened.

As I was copying my posts into this WordDoc, I became overwhelmed with nostalgia. I started reading some of your amazing comments, and revisiting my old poems. I owe you all a giant thank you: thank you, thank you, thank you!

Between 2012-2014, I gathered over 140 WordPress followers, responded to over 250 comments, received 8,031 views, and posted 83 times. Daily, I interacted with a whole bunch of you: reading your work, comment and sharing your posts. This sense of community carried me through a difficult time in my life when I was changing as a person, when I was figuring out who I was in this world.

For those wondering, I never actually stopped writing, I just stopped uploading. In fact, I probably write more now than I ever have, it’s just very different to the poems I wrote as The Ink Jester. I’ve written two first chapters for two different novels, a lot of poetry, and a tonne of philosophical essays. Not to mention, as a Post-Grad University student, a lot of my creative energy is directed into writing good essays. Whatever the case, you can be sure I’ll never stop writing.

I had great ambitions as a poet. I imagined myself getting published, becoming famous. Does that mean the closing of this blog is indicative of my failure? No, I don’t believe so. When I was writing poems for theinkjester.com, I found it necessary to dream. Without the dreams I lacked motivation and focus.

It doesn’t matter that I didn’t achieve these dreams, because in the process I grew as a person, as a writer, as an artist. Very soon, I found I didn’t need the recognition of others to justify my identity – it did not matter that no one had published my work. (Had I actually tried to submit anything, maybe I would have been surprised?). I am young, only twenty-five, it’s not like my days of writing poetry are over. Ambition had its place, but the journey was most important.

I will always remember 2012-2014 as wonderful years of great creativity and exploration. Thank you so much for being a part of my journey. I am unsure what will happen with this site – I may choose to rebrand it, or leave it as a time capsule.

Once again, thank you for all your support.

May the inkwell never run dry,

Iain Sutherland.
(June 14, 2016)

5 thoughts on “Two Years of Silence

  1. So good!! Like a young padawan you poured yourself into your art and have graduated into a world fraught with danger and deception, with evil as black as an oil slick.
    Well go! With your pencil as your sabre, fight for truth. Bring balance to this Galaxy..

  2. Iain, I only just found this in my email Inbox, so full of junk that it is these days. It’s good to read your honest evaluation of this blog which I myself have enjoyed reading/commenting on over the years. Much of what you say is true also of my own writing as I am in the process of searching for a new direction currently.

    You do indeed have a great talent, and whether you choose to share it with the entire world or just your circle of closest friends/relatives, I hope you continue to create for many years to come.

    Kind regards,
    Katie

Leave a Reply

